FANDOM


Alone1cover


'Alone in the Dark ' (abrégé AitD) est un jeu de survival horror édité par Infogrames en 1992 sur PC. En 1994, un port a été fait pour 3DO par Teque Entertainment et édité par Interplay Entertainment.

Alone in the Dark est l’un des premiers jeux de Survival Horror et un des premiers jeux à utiliser 3D modèles superposées sur des fonds pré-rendus. Le jeu a reçu le titre de « Premier jeu vidéo de survival-horror 3D » par Guinness World Records.

Gameplay Modifier

Gameplay tourne autour de combat et d’énigmes dans Derceto Manor. Le joueur peut choisir d’assumer le rôle de chaque Edward Carnby ou Emily Hartwood.

Le joueur collecte des articles autour de la maison pour résoudre les puzzles et interagir avec leurs environnements en sélectionnant les actions dans le menu.

Tracer des Modifier

C’est l’année 1923. Le propriétaire de la résidence de Louisiane Derceto, Jeremy Hartwood, est mort il y a quelques jours. Le rapport de police, a déposé après une enquête rapide, a conclu que l’artiste bien connu avait pris sa propre vie. Son majordome dévoué a confirmé que Hartwood avait souffert de dépression mentale considérable depuis quelques mois. Il avait placé une souche encore plus sur sa santé déjà fragile en traduisant les nombreux anciens manuscrits contenus dans la vaste bibliothèque de Dercéto. Il a également souffert d’insomnie, et les quelques heures de sommeil qu’il avait étaient troublés en perturbant notamment les cauchemars. Il a semblé être convaincu d’une présence mystérieuse dans l’ancienne maison.

Derceto est maintenant vide. Les rumeurs abondent d’une malédiction ou d’une puissance maléfique logement dans ses murs. Ce genre d’histoires n’est pas rares avec des maisons comme Dercéto, surtout dans ce domaine particulier. Depuis quelques jours, cependant, un nuage de doute a accrochée au-dessus de votre esprit...

Quels sont ces étranges lumières à l’intérieur de la maison pendant la nuit ? Ce qui pourrait expliquer les bruits étranges à être entendu à chaque fois vous approche ? Pourquoi Jeremy se suicider ? Ce qui vous pousse vers la maison ? Ce qui est un terrible secret de Derceto ?

Les caractères Modifier

Selon quel personnage est choisie, une petite trame de fond est fournie avant l’introduction.

Sur ma porte, une plaque de laiton mate dit « Détective privé ». La j’ai peu d’amis m’appelle Carnby ; les autres m’appellent le Reptile. Je n’aime pas à penser à ce que mon banquier m’appelle. Ces jours-ci, je laisse mes lettres non décachetées ; factures et menaces d’envoyer dans les récepteurs vient gâcher ma journée. Quand un antiquaire appelé Gloria Allen m’ont contacté, j’ai glissé dans ma chemise meilleur rengainé mon.38 et a obtenu sa boutique aussi vite que j’ai pu. Je m’attendais à quelque chose de sordide : chantage probablement. Garçon, j’étais mal ! Ce qui m’a demandé de faire, c’est visiter une propriété appelée Derceto et trouver un piano dans the The loft. C’était un vieux piano, avec des tiroirs secrets ; le genre de personnes qui achètent des trucs dans des magasins d’antiquités fou au-dessus. La maison de Derceto est censé être empilés avec l’ordure chic : meubles, livres, tableaux. Il ressemblait à quiconque appartenant Derceto s’apprêtait à être nettoyé. Je m’apprêtais à aborder le sujet de l’argent quand Gloria Allen m’a remis 150 $ et une clé. J’ai me suis gardé de sourire à l’idée de surprise de mon banquier. Il n’aime pas ses victimes à s’éloigner. J’ai regardé sur une copie du rapport de police. L’ex-propriétaire de Dercéto, un gars nommé J. Hartwood, s’était pendu dans le grenier. Le coroner a conclu qu'il s’agissait clairement de suicide. J’ai promis à Gloria Allen que je donnerais à la place un look-over. Mon rapport sera prêt dans quelques jours. J’ai lu vers le haut sur l’histoire de la vieille maison ; C’est le genre de lieu fantômes fuir dans la terreur. Meurtres macabres, malédictions, folie... Heureusement, adoration du diable me fait sourire, donc c’est mon idée d’un congé payé.

Emily Hartwood Modifier

Lettre de l’avocat a été un choc profond pour moi. Mon oncle que Jeremy était mort par sa propre main ! Le rapport du coroner a été sans équivoque : il s’est pendu dans le grenier. Ma surprise initiale et la détresse passée, j’ai examiné les nouvelles ; Il semble clair que Derceto avait exercé une influence bien morbide sur l’esprit de mon oncle. Ce qui craquent vieux manoir, avec ses histoires insolites, sa porte de la bibliothèque secrète, l’horloge ancienne à l’étage, tous ces livres occultes que mon oncle ne pouvait résister à reading, en dépit de ses nerfs fragiles... Sort avait pointé son doigt. Derceto avait piégé sa proie. Mr. MacCarfey, l’avocat de la famille, a proposé la vente de la maison ancienne ; J’ai immédiatement s’oppose à l’idée. Mon devoir est clair : je dois aller à Dercéto. Je tremble à l’idée de ces couloirs sombres, ces portraits de couvaison. Pourtant, je suis convaincu qu’oncle Jeremy laissa un mot, une lettre d’un certain type, expliquant sa décision fatidique. Je me souviens de sa voix disant: "Regardez le piano, Emily... Look plus difficile". Peut-être le tiroir secret donnera une explication. J’ai le sentiment de choses ne sera pas si simple. La vie est un mystère, contenant plus de mystères. Jeremy m’a appris qu’une grande partie. Maintenant est le moment d’affronter les mystères. Derceto m’attend. Je prie que ma peur n’est rien de plus que le fruit de mon imagination. Rien ne va jamais me persuader que mon oncle était aliéné. Mais pourquoi ne lui, selon le rapport de police, bloque la fenêtre loft avec la vieille armoire?

Secondes après la présentation et la cinématique d’introduction, le jeu permet au joueur de prendre le contrôle de leur caractère. Monstres feront leur première attaque, le joueur doit alors le progrès à travers la maison, repoussant les diverses créatures et autres dangers dans la maison, y compris un personnel entier de zombies stupéfiantes et divers monstres, pièges et arcanes livres, afin de résoudre le mystère de Derceto et trouver un moyen de sortir.


CreditsModifier

Réalisé & réalisé par

Frédérick Raynal

First Assistant

Franck De Girolami

Production designer

Yaël Barroz
Jean-Mare Toroella

Modeling 3D & Animation

Didier Chanfray

Screen Play

Hubert Chardot
Franck Manzetti

Product Manager

Oliver Robin

Original Music & SFx

Philippe Vachey
Mixed by Sequence Coda

Best Boys

Frédérique Bourgin
Lionel Frappé
Serge Plagnol

Special Thanks To:

Bruno Bonnell
Bernard Montibert
Eric Mottot
Veronique Salmeron
H.P. Lovecraft
Chaosium

Box art Gallery Modifier

Sources and References Modifier

' alone in the Dark je '
' Caractères ' Edward Carnby · Emily Hartwood · Ezechiel Pregzt · Jeremy Hartwood
' Créatures/ennemis ' Ghoul · Zombie poulet · Araignées · Rat · Monstre grotte · Baignoire Monster · Battant des créatures · Deep Ones · Nightgaunt s · Vagabond · Fantômes · Armure animée · Portraits animés · Chthonian
' Misc Derceto Manor · Items · Les documents · Armes


Modèle:Video Games

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Fandom

Alone in the Dark Wiki

Alone in the Dark (1992)

678pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk4 Share
Alone in the Dark
Alone1cover
Developer Infogrames
Arrow Micro-Techs Corp (PC-98, FM Towns)
Krisalis (3DO)
Kung-Fu Factory (iOS)
Publisher Infogrames
Designer Frédérick Raynal
Didier Chanfray
Franck Manzetti
Released 1992 (DOS)
December 10, 1993 (PC-98, FM Towns)
October 21, 1993 (3DO)
1994 (Mac)
August 31, 2014 (iOS)
Genre Survival Horror
Modes Single Player
Ports DOS
PC-98
FM Towns
3DO
Mac
iOS

Alone in the Dark (shortened to AitD) is a survival horror game released by Infogrames in 1992 for PC. In 1994 a port was made for 3DO by Krisalis Entertainment and published by Interplay Entertainment.

Alone in the Dark is one of the first Survival Horror games and one of the first games to utilize 3D models superimposed on pre-rendered backgrounds. The game was awarded the title of 'First 3D survival-horror videogame' by Guiness World Records.

Gameplay

Gameplay revolves around combat and puzzle solving within Derceto Manor. The player can choose to assume the role of either Edward Carnby or Emily Hartwood.

The player collects items around the mansion to solve puzzles and interact with their environments by selecting actions in the menu.

Plot

It is the year 1923. The owner of the Louisiana mansion Derceto, Jeremy Hartwood, died a few days ago. The police report, filed after a cursory investigation, concluded that the well-known artist had taken his own life. His devoted butler confirmed that Hartwood had been suffering from considerable mental depression for some months. He had placed even more strain on his already delicate health by translating the many ancient manuscripts contained in Derceto's extensive library. He also suffered from insomnia and the few hours of sleep he had were troubled by particularly disturbing nightmares. He appeared to be convinced of a mysterious presence in the old house.

Derceto is now empty. Rumors abound of a curse or of an evil power dwelling within its walls. Such stories are not uncommon with houses like Derceto, especially in this particular area. For some days now, however, a cloud of doubt has hung over your mind...

What are those strange lights inside the house during nightfall? What could account for the eerie noises to be heard each time you approach? Why did Jeremy commit suicide? What compels you towards the house? What is Derceto‘s terrible secret?

Characters

Depending on which character is chosen, a small backstory is provided before the introduction.

Edward Carnby

On my door, a dull brass plate says "Private detective". The few friends I have call me Carnby; the others call me the Reptile. I don't care to think what my banker calls me. These days, I leave my letters unopened; bills and threats to send in the receivers just ruin my day. When an antique dealer called Gloria Allen contacted me, I slipped into my best shirt, holstered my .38, and got to her shop as fast as I could. I was expecting something sordid: blackmail probably. Boy, was I wrong! What I was asked to do was visit a property called Derceto and find a piano in the loft. It was an old piano, with secret drawers; the kind people who buy stuff in antique stores go crazy over. The Derceto house is supposed to be piled high with classy junk: furniture, books, paintings. It looked like whoever owned Derceto was about to get cleaned out. I was going to bring up the subject of money when Gloria Allen handed me $150 and a key. I kept myself from grinning at the thought of my banker's surprise. He doesn't like his victims getting away. I looked over a copy of the police report. The former owner of Derceto, a guy called J. Hartwood, had hanged himself in the loft. The coroner concluded it was a clear-cut case of suicide. I promised Gloria Allen I'd give the place a look-over. My report will be ready in a couple of days. I've been reading up on the history of the old house; it's the kind of place ghosts run away from in terror. Grisly murders, curses, lunacy... Luckily, devil-worship makes me smile, so this is my idea of a paid vacation.

Emily Hartwood

The attorney's letter came as a deep shock to me. My uncle Jeremy had died by his own hand! The coroner's report was unequivocal: he hanged himself in the loft. My initial surprise and distress past, I considered the news; it seemed clear that Derceto had exercised a thoroughly morbid influence on my uncle's mind. That creaking old mansion, with its unusual tales, its secret library door, the ancient upstairs clock, all those occult books that my uncle could not resist reading, in spite of his fragile nerves... Fate had pointed its finger. Derceto had trapped its prey. Mr. MacCarfey, the family lawyer, suggested selling the old house; I immediately opposed the idea. My duty is clear: I must go to Derceto. I tremble at the thought of those dark corridors, those brooding portraits. Yet I am convinced that uncle Jeremy left a note, a letter of some kind, explaining his fateful decision. I remember his voice saying, "Look at the piano, Emily... Look harder." Maybe the secret drawer will yield up an explanation. I have the feeling things will not be so simple. Life is a mystery, containing more mysteries. Jeremy taught me that much. Now is the time to confront the mysteries. Derceto is waiting for me. I pray that my fear is nothing more that the fruit of my imagination. Nothing will ever persuade me that my uncle was insane. But why did he, according to the police report, block the loft window with the old wardrobe?

Seconds after the presentation and introduction cutscene, the game allows the player to take control of their character. Monsters will make their first attack, the player must then progress through the house, fighting off various creatures and other hazards in the house, including a whole staff of staggering zombies and various monsters, booby-traps and arcane books, in order to solve the mystery of Derceto and find a way out.

Characters

Monsters

Trivia

  • A remake for Alone in the Dark was in development, however it was cancelled.

Credits

Realized & Directed by

Frédérick Raynal

First Assistant

Franck De Girolami

Production designer

Yaël Barroz
Jean-Mare Toroella

Modeling 3D & Animation

Didier Chanfray

Screen Play

Hubert Chardot
Franck Manzetti

Product Manager

Oliver Robin

Original Music & SFx

Philippe Vachey
Mixed by Sequence Coda

Best Boys

Frédérique Bourgin
Lionel Frappé
Serge Plagnol

Special Thanks To:

Bruno Bonnell
Bernard Montibert
Eric Mottot
Veronique Salmeron
H.P. Lovecraft
Chaosium

Box art Gallery

Sources and References

Alone in the Dark I



Dark Maze
Expansion required
This article is too short to provide more than rudimentary information about the subject. You can help Alone in the Dark Wiki by expanding it. This template will categorize articles that include it into Category:stub.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.